Dunham Massey is temporarily closed until further notice. Please check the venue's website for the latest details.
A 121-room Grade 1 Georgian mansion set within a magnificent 300-acre deer park.
This is a treasure-packed and gossip-filled house which invites visitors to discover the salacious scandals embedded in the hall's history. Our favourite is the story of the 7th Earl of Stamford, who married Catharine Cox, a former bare-back circus rider. They were made to feel so unwelcome at Dunham Massey that they left the house and never returned.
During 2014-15, the clock was turned back to allow visitors to experience what life was like when it was used as a military hospital during the First World War.
Dunham Massey was one of the finalists for Art Fund Museum of the Year 2015.
One of the largest collections of furniture, paintings and ceramics within the National Trust can be found at Dunham Massey, including a trove of Huguenot silver. The library displays Grinling Gibbons's first masterpiece, The Crucifixion (after Jacopo Tintoretto) carved in 1671, while the significant textile collection is made up of both domestic fabrics and costumes. There are also extensive documents and records of the period during the First World War, when the house was converted into a hospital for wounded soldiers from the trenches.