Augustus John came to Liverpool in 1901-2 to be Master of Painting in the Fine Art Department.

His interest in gypsies and the wandering life coincided with a lively group of college staff who devoted themselves to this subject at that time. 1) Dr Edmund Knowles Muspratt, c.1906. First President of Council of the University of Liverpool. 2) John Macdonald Mackay, c.1902. Professor of History at the University of Liverpool. 3) The Rt.Hon. Sir John Tomilson Brunner, Bart, 1906. Pro-Chancellor of the University of Liverpool and President of the University Club. 4) Sir Charles Scott Sherrington, 1924. Professor of Physiology at the UniverSity of Liverpool, Nobel Laureate for Medicine in 1922.


University Club, Liverpool

Back to top