Five Ancient Greek coins by Unknown Artist

Five Greek coins: 1) A silver tetradrachm of Catana by Euainotos, 410 BC, inscribed with Nike, Appollo and the artist's name; 2) A silver tetradrachm, Siculo-punic war, circa 218 BC, inscribed with Head of Heracles and an elephant; 3) Gold 25 units of Etruria, 5th Century BC; 4) Gold 1/3 stater of Metapontum, circa 334-330 BC.


Silver & gold
Art Fund grant:
£999 ( Total: £999)
Acquired in:

Inscribed with the head of Persephone, and an ear of bearded wheat; 5) Silver diobol of Locri Epizephyree, circa 300-280 BC. Inscribed with an eagle and thunderbolt.


R.C. Lockett.

Venue details

Fitzwilliam Museum Trumpington Street, CAMBRIDGE Cambridgeshire CB2 1RB 01223 332900

Entry details

Free to all

Tue – Sat, 10am – 5pm Sun & Bank Holidays 12noon – 5pm Closed Mon, 24 – 26, 31 Dec and 1 Jan