A group of five Japanese orders

These medals represent important material traces of the influence of Western culture on Japan and trace a narrative, because of the recognition of various different groups and individuals that they embody, of rapid cultural and social change in Japan since the late 19th century.


Medals - various, principally: silver, enamel, silk, gold plate, pastes; Cases: lacquer
Art Fund grant:
£1,343 ( Total: £1,343)
Acquired in:
Liverpool Medal Company

The five medals acquired have various individual significances and include: the Order of the Rising Sun (main illustration), established in 1875 to be awarded to those who have made distinguished achievements in (not exclusively, but most particularly) international relations and the promotion of Japanese culture; the 2600th Anniversary Medal, instituted on 27 July 1940; the Order of the Sacred Treasure, established in 1888 by Emperor Meiji of Japan as the Order of Meiji and awarded in eight classes to the military and to those who have made distinguished achievements in various academic, social, political or economic pursuits; and the Red Cross Order of Merit, established to reward those who have supported the Red Cross through the rendering of distinguished service or who have made significant financial contributions to support its work. Presented by the Art Fund and the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation


Provenance unavailable; medals are common in Japan.

Venue details

Oriental Museum Durham University, Elvet Hill, DURHAM County Durham DH1 3TH 0191 334 5694 www.dur.ac.uk/oriental.museum

Entry details

Free with National Art Pass (standard entry £1.50)

Mon – Fri, 10am – 5pm Sat – Sun, 12noon – 5pm Closed between Christmas and New Year