Aberdeen Art Gallery, joint winner 2020

History of the prize

Art Fund has overseen Museum of the Year since 2013, during in which time an array of outstanding museums have been rewarded for their excellence, innovation, creativity and imagination.

The prize in its current form is part of a 50-year history of celebrating and rewarding the best UK museums have to offer. The first ‘Art Fund Museum of the Year’ was awarded in 2013 to the William Morris Gallery in London. Its forerunner was the Prize for Museums and Galleries, administered by the Museum Prize Trust and supported by Art Fund between 2008-2012. Prior to this, it was sponsored by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation from 2003-2007, when it was known as the ‘Gulbenkian Museum Prize’. 

Individual Please note this is an example card and not a reflection of the final product

Visit the shortlist for less

See all five shortlisted venues and hundreds more across the UK and enjoy great savings with a National Art Pass

Art Fund Museum of the Year map

Discover all the winners and finalists of the prize, from 2013 to the present day

Are your sure you want to leave checkout?