The annual art prize finds its home in Derry-Londonderry this year as part of the UK City of Culture 2013.

A chance to see entries from all four finalists of the 2013 edition of the annual art prize, namely Laure Prouvost, Tino Sehgal, David Shrigley and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye.

The bookies favourite was Tino Sehgal, known for his intimate, potent and ever-changing performances. He was shortlisted for ‘These Associations’, which was first shown at Tate Modern featuring shadowy figures eager to recount life-changing moments from their past. In Derry, visitors are encouraged to debate market forces with gallery staff and earn £1 if their argument is considered good enough.

Yet it was Laure Prouvost who scooped the £25,000 prize for her installation Wantee. The film, which plays in a tea-party-style room to a maximum capacity of 20 people, explores the story of a fictional grandfather who Provoust imagines as a conceptual artist and close friend of Kurt Schwitters.

Originally part of a Schwitters exhibition at Tate Britain, it takes its title from the nickname of Kurt's partner, Edith Thomas, who was continually asking visitors, 'want tea?'.

According to Tate Britain director and chair of the judges​, Penelope Curtis, the panel deliberated for three hours before making a decision, after being drawn into Prouvost's work 'more deeply than they imagined they would be'.

The other nominees include David Shrigley, whose black humour and whimsical musings offer a macabre vision of contemporary life and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, a painter managing to combine a traditional aesthetic with something much more imaginative.

Ebrington Square

The Parade Ground, Ebrington Square, Derry~Londonderry, BT47 6JE

Back to top