Located in the South Downs National Park, the mansion is surrounded by a 700-acre deer park designed by Capability Brown.
Only the chapel remains from the great house that was fortified in 1308-9; the palatial Baroque mansion that stands today was built in 1682 under the direction of Elizabeth Percy and her husband Charles Seymour, 6th Duke of Somerset.
The state rooms are largely still laid out as they were by the 3rd Earl of Egremont in the 18th century, designed to showcase the art and sculpture collection he treasured so highly. Separate servants’ quarters offer a glimpse of life below stairs – in 1819 over 50 indoor servants lived at Petworth and by 1834 there were 135 – including a historic kitchen featuring a 1000 piece copper batterie de cuisine.
Petworth is home to the current Lord and Lady Egremont who live in a private part of the mansion.
There were four great collectors in the Petworth family who commissioned and bought art of the highest standard. The collection they amassed is now the finest in the care of the National Trust, featuring over 300 paintings by Turner, Van Dyck, Lely, Reynolds, Blake Gainsborough and others.