Armitt Museum and Library is temporarily closed until further notice. Please check the venue's website for the latest details.

The Armitt Collection celebrates over 2,000 years of Lake District heritage.

Founded in 1912 the Armitt is a combination of gallery, museum and library, entirely devoted to exploring the rich history of the local area.


Permanent collection

The Armitt's collection is both eclectic and eccentric; an early 19th century articulated wooden leg from Elfehowe, a Roman copper alloy bell and a lace cap belonging to Dorothy Wordsworth were among the early acquisitions.

Key pieces by former local residents include Ruskin's letters addressed to Dr. Parsons, Beatrix Potter’s watercolours of fungi, mosses and lichens and artworks by Kurt Schwitters, who spent his final years living and working in Cumbria.

Armitt Museum and Library

Rydal Road, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9BL

01539 431212

Website

Opening times

Temporarily closed

Back to top