Armagh Robinson Library is temporarily closed until further notice. Please check the venue's website for the latest details.
Step inside this classical 18th century library, sharing knowledge with the city of Armagh since the late 1700s.
Founded in 1771 by Archbishop Richard Robinson, the Armagh Robinson Library was created as a way for Robinson to share his extensive collection of fine art books with the Armagh community. Since then the library has grown his collection and is now lined floor to ceiling with rare and beautiful books.
The collections include a range of unique manuscripts and printed books, notably writer Jonathan Swift’s own copy of his famous satirical novel Gulliver’s Travels (1726), containing notes in the author’s own handwriting. Other highlights in the collection include the 1835 Ordinance Survey maps for all of Ireland, plus a range of pamphlets, periodicals, atlases, coins, gems, medals and archaeological artefacts to explore.
There is rolling programme of temporary exhibitions every three months and previous topics covered have included botany, theatre, mathematical texts and Jewish representation in Irish literature.