Tullie House marks 125 years with an exhibition reflecting on the museum’s history, celebrating the present and looking ahead to an exciting future.
Tullie House was officially opened as a museum, public library and school of art in 1893. The buildings housed the collections of the city and shared the stories they told.
The exhibition will give visitors the opportunity to see some of the earliest objects and art works collected by the museum in the 1890s, many of which have not been on public display for many years. The history of Tullie House will be told through objects from the collection and personal stories about the people who made Tullie House what it is today.
Art by Thomas Bushby, Sheila Fell and others will help tell the story of the students and tutors at the Art School. Objects from the Natural Science collection will reveal the discoveries made by researchers, and stunning displays of favourite objects selected by our visitors will bring back happy memories of school trips and family visits.