This magnificent Victorian pumping station will be open to the group for the morning! Crossness was built in the first half of the 1860s by Joseph Bazalgette, after London’s cholera outbreaks earlier in the century, and the Great Stink of 1858. Opened by the Prince of Wales in 1865, the Grade 1 listed buildings are a marvel of Victorian architecture and engineering, and represent a unique part of Britain’s industrial heritage. Operating as a sewage plant for London for the best part of a century, Crossness became redundant in the early 1950s and fell into disrepair. In the 1980s, the Crossness Engines Trust began the long process of bringing the buildings back to life, including the restoration of the spectacular Victorian cast ironwork and decorative scheme and the splendid Beam Engines.

The group will gather at 10.30 for a coffee, following which will be a talk about the pumping station and the restoration project. There will then be a tour of the site and a chance to see the Prince Consort Beam Engine fired up and running (“a ballet of rods and pistons”), specially for the group. The morning will end with a light sandwich lunch on site.

This event has been organised by the Kent Fundraising Committee Volunteer Fundraising Committee to help raise money for the Art Fund.

Crossness Pumping Station

Thames Water PLC, The Old Works, Bazalgette Way, London, London, SE2 9AQ

Entry details

£45 (includes coffee on arrival, talk, tour and light lunch)

To book, please contact Julian Cronk on

Latest news and features

Back to top