Treasurer's House

Donated by Wakefield industrialist Frank Green in 1930, this was the first house ever given to the National Trust complete with a collection.

Green bought the property in 1897 to house his vast collection of art and antiques. He decorated each of the 13 rooms in the style of a different period and was extremely particular about how they should look and be kept; visitors can still see the metal studs he placed in the floor to mark the position of furniture in case it was moved.

When Green donated the house to the National Trust it was under the condition that the rooms would be kept exactly as he had left them. In fact, he vowed to return to haunt the building if any changes were made. Since 1930 items in the house have had to be moved for conservation reasons and reports of spooky occurrences are thought to be Green fulfilling his promise.

While it's been maintained to reflect Green's wishes, the property's history actually dates back over 2,000 years – there's a Roman road in the cellar.

Permanent collections

Green amassed an eclectic collection of antique furniture, ceramics, textiles, paintings and memorabilia during his time as owner of Treasurer’s House. Dotted around the property are intriguing items such as a model of a Napoleonic gunship, a cauliflower shaped Wedgwood tea set and an Indian ivory games table.

Visitor information

Winner of the Gold Award from the Yorkshire in Bloom team, the walled garden provides a unique place to sit and listen to the York Minster bells. The Below Stairs cafe serves traditional cream teas.


Venue details

Treasurer's House Minster Yard, York North Yorkshire YO1 7JL 01904 624247

Entry details

Standard entry £7.20

Until 1 Nov

Sat-Thu, 11am-5pm