Visit to the Wemyss School of Needlework and Wemyss Castle Gardens
- Wemyss School of Needlework |
The Wemyss School of Needlework was founded in 1877 to train the daughters of local miners to make underclothes for trousseaux, and exquisite baby clothes. After WWI Lady Victoria changed the emphasis to canvas embroidery and started the unique collection of designs for which it is famous today. Mrs Birrell, great granddaughter of the first mistress of the school and a notable needlewoman herself, has looked after the school for many years and will give a guided tour. The huge walled garden has been restored and created in the last 15 years by Michael and Charlotte Wemyss. It is renowned for its roses, clematis (there are clematis for sale) and herbaceous borders. Tea will be served in the garden (under cover if wet).
The drive to the entrance to Wemyss Castle is on the left hand side of the A955 as you leave Coaltown of Wemyss heading for Kirkcaldy. The Wemyss School building (sign) is on the left beside the gate.
Main St Coaltown Of Wemyss Kirkcaldy Fife Fife KY1 4NX