Our experienced and passionate panel of judges are responsible for deciding which finalist will be awarded Art Fund Museum of the Year 2019.

Stephen Deuchar

Chair of the Judges

Art Fund director since 2010, Stephen Deuchar has chaired the judging panel since 2013. Before joining Art Fund, Stephen was the first director of Tate Britain (1998 – 2009), having previously spent 12 years as a curator then exhibitions director at the National Maritime Museum, Greenwich.

David Batchelor

Artist David Batchelor has exhibited widely internationally, with recent exhibitions in London, Tehran and Melbourne. Deriving from a long-term interest in colour and urbanism, his work comprises three-dimensional structures, photographs, paintings and drawings.

Brenda Emmanus

Broadcaster and journalist Brenda Emmanus has presented programmes and documentaries across BBC television and radio. Previously an arts and features editor for the Voice Newspaper Brenda has also been a facilitating judge for two anthologies commissioned by Penguin Books and the Creative Arts Awards for the Stroke Association.

Bridget McConnell

Chief executive of Glasgow Life, Bridget McConnell is the strategic lead ensuring Glasgow is a world-leader in culture and sport. Career highlights have included overseeing the £35 million refurbishment of Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and the opening of the Riverside Museum, named European Museum of the Year in 2013. A fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, Bridget was made CBE in 2015 in recognition of services to culture.

Bill Sherman

Bill is director of the Warburg Institute (University of London), one of the world’s leading centres for the study of images, ideas and societies, and was previously director of research and collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum and founding director of the Centre for Renaissance & Early Modern Studies at the University of York. Active on editorial boards, trusts and councils on both sides of the Atlantic, he served as associate editor of Shakespeare Quarterly for over a decade.

More about Museum of the Year

Back to top