Journal of a Wye Tour by Ann Cooper

The Wye Tour owes its origins to the vicar of Ross on Wye in the 1740s who entertained his friends by taking them down the river in a pleasure boat.

Details

Medium:
Pen & ink & watercolour
Dimensions:
20 x 16.5 cm
Art Fund grant:
£2,165 ( Total: £5,522)
Acquired in:
2007
Vendor:
Dominic Winter Book Auctions

By the 1770s the tour was well established with popular stops including the ruins of Tintern Abbey, castles on cliff tops and the wonders of the Piercefield walks. William Gilpin published ‘Observations on the River Wye' in 1783 where he laid down rules for assessing the picturesque quality of the views encountered on the trip down the river. Anne Cooper the author of this journal, made her trip down the Wye just three years after Gilpin’s book. Writing a journal or making sketches, or even a combination, was part of the experience.

Provenance

Eric Wiles, Chepstow.

Venue details

Chepstow Museum Gwy House, Bridge Street, CHEPSTOW Monmouthshire NP16 5EZ 01291 625 981 www.chepstowmuseum.co.uk/

Entry details

Free to all

 

Daily, 11am -4pm (inc Bank Holidays)

Please visit the website for additional information.

Share this article