Past winners

Have a look at the previous winners of Museum of the Year – and plan your next visit.


From the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art to the world-famous British Museum, our winners display the incredible range and diversity of museums in the UK.

Find out more about the previous winners:

2015: the Whitworth, Manchester

2014: Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Wakefield

2013: William Morris Gallery, London

2012: Royal Albert Memorial Museum, Exeter

2011: British Museum, London

2010: Ulster Museum, Belfast 

2009: Wedgwood Museum, Staffordshire

​2008: The Lightbox, Surrey

2007: Pallant House Gallery, West Sussex

2006: Brunel's ss Great Britain, Bristol

2005: Big Pit National Coal Museum, Blaenafon

2004: Scottish National Gallery, Edinburgh

2003: Galleries of Justice Museum, Nottingham