Rankin: Museum of the Year 2016 finalists

  • Published 23 June 2016

The world-renowned photographer has shot portraits of the people behind the five finalist museums – explore them in our gallery below.

Speaking about the commission Rankin said: 'It has been a tremendous experience to work on this project with the Art Fund and museums across the UK. My approach has been to focus on the people behind the scenes; those, frequently unrecognised, that make museums what they are, rather than just the obvious people at the top.'

As part of his commitment to the Museum of the Year project, Rankin has also chosen the shortlist for the public photography competition. Vote for your favourite photo for the chance to win a double National Art Pass.


Pictured, left to right: Ellie Coleman (curator of learning), Gaia Rosenberg (impact manager), Jon Hill (bookshop manager), James Sargent (production assistant), Kate Brindley (CEO), Mason Robinson (volunteer coordinator)

Bethlem Museum of the Mind

Pictured, left to right: Dr Nick Hervey (chair of trustees and museum volunteer), Jillian Gregory (conservator), Caroline Smith (head of learning), Mr Xavier White (artist and collaborator), Dr Deji Ayonrinde (consultant psychiatrist and contributor to the museum’s learning programme), Amy Moffat (community engagement officer).

Jupiter Artland

Pictured, left to right: Robert Wilson (founder), Nicky Wilson (founder), Diana McMicking (learning director), Caroline Mathias (senior head gardener), Pauline Cairns (general manager), John Heffernan (programme coordinator), Phyllida Barlow (artist).

Victoria and Albert Museum

Pictured, left to right: Daniel Feeney (head of visitor experience), Kate Bethune (senior researcher, Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty), Afia Yeboah (assistant programme manager, performance), Yinka Shonibare (artist), James Beardsworth (head of friends), Charlotte Hubbard (head of sculpture conservation, Europe 1600-1815 galleries).

York Art Gallery

Pictured, left to right: Laura Turner (senior curator of art and science), Reyahn King (chief executive), Helen Walsh (curator of ceramics), Charlotte Kindesjo (head of communications), Clare Twomey (artist), Michael Woodward (chief operation officer), Alison Pringle (gardens manager).

Tags: Museums and galleriesmuseum-of-the-yearSupporting museums