Applications invited for Museum of the Year 2013

  • 2 January 2013

The Art Fund has launched its annual £100,000 prize, which now features wider criteria and a streamlined application process.

A visitor to the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art

A visitor to the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art

The prize is a celebration of the many innovative and excellent ways that cultural institutions throughout the UK are bringing their collections to life for audiences. This year it will be awarded in recognition of the exceptional achievements of a museum or gallery in 2012, and not necessarily for a single leading project.

As in previous years, ten finalists will be selected from the applications received. The winner will be announced on 4 June 2013, when two prizes will be awarded: £100,000 to the Museum of the Year and £10,000 for the Clore Award for Learning, an award which celebrates museums and galleries that put learning at the heart of what they do.

The panel of judges, chaired by Art Fund director Stephen Deuchar, comprises five leading figures from across the cultural world, including Sarah Crompton, Bettany Hughes, Tristram Hunt MP and artist Bob and Roberta Smith. They will be looking for a museum that has demonstrated excellence, originality, innovation and imagination; successfully brought its collection to life for audiences; clearly won the support and enthusiasm of its visitors and users; and that has embarked on activity that will provide a lasting legacy or has had a transformative effect.

--UPDATE 15/02/2013--

Applications are now closed. The ten finalists will be announced in early April.