Save Our Sculpture

Hannah Firth at Chapter Arts Centre, Cardiff


£16,830 raised
143 funders

Funded 21 January 2019

0% funded

105% funded

We need your help to restore an iconic sculpture and bring it back to Wales.

In 1972 influential British artist Garth Evans created a large-scale sculpture that was sited in Cardiff City Centre for six months as part of the Peter Stuyvesant City Sculpture project, which saw 17 new works placed at the heart of eight cities across England and Wales. The project was a significant chapter in the history of public art and urban space.

Garth chose Cardiff as the location for his work as he had very strong family connections with Wales and his Welsh grandfather’s tales of his time as a miner were hugely influential in the sculpture’s form – evoking both a hammer-like tool and the image of a mine tunnel that was as black as coal.

'I wanted to make something that would impact its location, altering and affecting the space and by its presence, create a new sense of place.' Garth Evans

After the project, the sculpture was relocated to Leicestershire where it has remained hidden, neglected and unseen by the public ever since. The years have taken their toll on this important work and its condition is now rapidly deteriorating.

Your money will help us to save the sculpture by carrying out the specialist restoration that is so desperately needed to prevent any further and irreversible damage. In a truly unique project we will then be able to return the work to its original location in Wales almost 50 years after it was first seen.

Please support us by contributing as much or as little as you can and help us to rescue, restore and relocate this iconic work.

We want everyone to have the power to make art happen

Art Happens is the UK's only crowdfunding platform dedicated to museums and galleries, giving everyone the power to make art happen. If you have any questions or need help donating, contact us on 0203 757 9772 or email


Five reasons to #saveoursculpture

Here are five fantastic reasons to help us save this iconic sculpture by British artist Garth Evans... Read more

A word from the artist

Garth Evans on the inspiration behind his work, and why it's important to bring it back home to Wales... Read more

Only 4 days left to Save Our Sculpture and we need YOUR support!

Can you help us spread the word?... Read more

An extra week to Save Our Sculpture

Our campaign has been extended, we're so close!... Read more

We've reached our target!

Thanks to 152 contributors we raised £16,615... Read more

With thanks to...

Anthony Shapland

Catherine Angle


Susan Davies

Carol Jones

Paul Maslin

Richard Smith

Carole Robb

linda burrows

Jane Cairns

Wil McAllister

Sian Evans

Dean Woolford

Adam Begley

Jonathan Vining

Joanne Bushnell

Andrew CRAGG

Linda James

Emma Coulthard

Edward Newsome

Katy Besley


Howard Firth

Mathew Prichard

Warren Orchard

beki Pope

E Morgan

Stephen Jones

Ellen Zucker

Jonathan Wright

Liam Confrey

Kunal Saujani

Gwen Ellis

A Ward

John Habron

Frank Holloway

Kirsty Harding

Eleanor Strong

Richard Carr

Katie Haines

Richard Deacon

Laura Ford

Eleanor Davies

Marie-Anne McQuay

Martin Wedlake

Richard Woods

Michael Tooby

Hannah Firth

Susan Sear

Thomas McPhillips

Mike Nelson

Garth Evans


Carwyn Evans

Clare Thornton

Merrin Kalinowski

Nicholas Serota

Leanne Williams

Martin McCabe

Clare Charles

Alison Wilding

Catryn Ramasut

Anthony Shapland

Slavica Tucakov

Myles Leadbeatter

Leo Danstead


J Bennett

Heike Roms

Ben Borthwick

Martin Richmond

Carmen Mörsch

Elin Wyn

Romy Johnson

Ted Gaty

F. Zunino

David Evans

Lisa Floyd

Heather Willbourn

Rand Irons

Rob Stickler

Nia MacMillan


SiobhAn Landry

Pamela Symons

Jonathan Evans

catherine angle

Ann Compton

Matthew Beere

Merlin James

Sharon Stone

Paul Richards

James McHardy


David Clarke

Amber Mottram

Margaret Harding

Elaina Johnson

Andy Eagle

Sally Tittmann

Julia Klein

Charles Fountain

Anthony Stokes

Ann Rhys

jacqueline poncelet

Kathryn Ashill

Neil Lebeter

Teresa Gleadowe

Andrew Lewis

Ken Leake

Daniel Noall

Antwn Owen-Hicks

kelly best

Paul Horton

Abi Lawrence

Caren Fullerton

Cecile Johnson Soliz

Matt Nicholas

Lisa Buckley

Elizabeth Fraser

Katie Mason

Alfred Widmann

Robert Harding

Patricia O'Sullivan

Josephine Nieuwenhuis

keith slade

Toby Nelmes

Lee Collins

Mike Thomas

stephen swindell

Jock Ireland

Lowri Matthews

Marjorie Allthorpe-Guyton

Callum Thomson

Elizabeth Craigmyle

Emma Greany

Emma Kidd

Thomas Williams

Catriona Gallagher

Rebecca Holland

Geoff Hancock

Sean Edwards

Jonathan Cooke

Maud, New York, NY

29 November 2018 - 14:18

I can't seem to donate with credit card from the USA.... it says the field of BillingState is empty, but I can't see that field. Thanks for help!


11 December 2018 - 17:27

Dear Maud, thank you for your interest in our #SaveOurSculpture campaign. We are really sorry for the delay in our response. We have been trying to resolve this online technical issue since your comment, but have so far been unable to do so. In the meantime, please email Hannah Firth (Chapter Arts Centre) at who will be happy to support an alternative way for you to donate. Our apologies again for the inconvenience and very best wishes!

Add comment


One moment please
Back to top