Narberth Museum welcomes judges

The sun shone as the five Museum of the Year judges enjoyed a visit to the tenacious Pembrokeshire museum.

All five judges including Bob and Roberta Smith, Sarah Crompton, Bettany Hughes, Tristram Hunt MP and chair Stephen Deuchar travelled to west Wales to take in the remarkable story of Narberth Museum's survival against the odds.

Celebrating the rich history, culture and community of the Welsh market town, Narberth Museum is a modern, dynamic centre within the walls of a recently renovated industrial warehouse. It is run mainly by an enthusiastic and dedicated team of volunteers who, when the museum was closed in 2003, endeavoured to raise funds and re-establish it following the sale of its original premises. Their tireless work has enabled the museum to emerge as a successful contemporary cultural hub in the local area where people can engage with their past.

Listen to Tristram Hunt MP explain what made this an enlightening visit for him:

Back to top