Museum of the Year 2013 judges announced

An experienced and passionate panel of judges will decide the ten finalists and crown the winner of the £100,000 prize for Museum of the Year.

Chaired by Art Fund director Stephen Deuchar, the panel includes the Daily Telegraph’s Arts Editor Sarah Crompton, writer and broadcaster Bettany Hughes, historian Tristram Hunt MP and artist Bob and Roberta Smith. As they search for the Museum of the Year, the judges will draw on their experience, enthusiasm and knowledge of museum culture to explore some of the UK’s most innovative and creative museums and galleries.

Museum of the Year

Museums will be invited to apply for the award from 2 January and we’ll also be welcoming you to nominate your own suggestions. Once the judges have decided on the ten finalists they'll visit each one to experience firsthand the innovative ways they use their collections to tell stories and histories, inspire their visitors, and create opportunities for reflection, illumination and fun.

The Museum of the Year award will go to the museum which across all of its activities demonstrates innovative and outstanding approaches; from exhibitions, acquisitions and conservation to education, outreach and imaginative use of new technology and digital media.

Clore Award for Learning

A second award of £10,000, the Clore Award for Learning, will also be awarded to one of the ten museum finalists. The Clore Award has a focus on work with children and young people and celebrates quality museum and gallery learning in any setting, in or out of school or college.

Follow the judges

You can follow the Museum of the Year prize by subscribing to our newsletter or following us on Twitter. All the judges are also on Twitter:

  • Bob and Roberta Smith: @BobandRoberta
  • Sarah Crompton: @Sarahc_k
  • Tristram Hunt MP: @TristramHuntMP
  • Bettany Hughes: @Bettany_Hughes

Find out more about the Museum of the Year prize.

Back to top