For over 800 years Benedictine monks worshipped at Muchelney Abbey, their huge monastery dominating the marshy landscape until 1533 when Henry VIII ordered its destruction. Walk round the ruins, see the splendid rooms of the Abbots House with a collection of furniture and stone carvings and visit the Leach Pottery. Around the corner is the parish church completed in the early 1400s and noted for its barrel vaulted ceiling with Tudor paintings of uninhibited angels.
Then move on to Midelney Manor, an Elizabethan house built by the Trevilian family. Originally thought to have been on the H plan and a smaller version of Barrington Court, it was altered in the 18th century, when some of the interior was remodelled. Behind the house is a rare Falcon Mews of the early 18th century. A guided tour of the house by owner, Mrs Cely-Trevilian, followed by a visit to the charming garden before having tea in the dining room.